BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE FÜR ONLINE-MARKTPLÄTZE

Scout24 Logo

challenge mountain achievement
Herausforderung
Mangelnde Transparenz bezüglich der Leistung von drei Online-Marktplätzen (ImmoScout24, AutoScout24 und Anibis).
solution puzzle
Lösung
Implementierung eines unternehmensweiten Data Warehouse innerhalb von nur 9 Monaten, wobei 7 interne und 2 Online-Quellen integriert wurden.
benefits boost icon
Nutzen
Hohes Maß an Standardisierung, Erweiterbarkeit und Wartbarkeit zu geringen Kosten.

ÜBER SCOUT24

Scout24 Schweiz AG ist das führende Netzwerk von Online-Marktplätzen für Fahrzeuge, Immobilien und Kleinanzeigen. Das Unternehmen ist im Besitz der Ringier Digital AG (56%) und des amerikanischen Finanzinvestors KKR (44%). Der weltweit tätige Ringier Konzern bündelt seine digitalen Aktivitäten unter dem Geschäftsbereich Ringier Digital.

 
Dank innovativer Technologien und Dienstleistungen gehört Scout24 zu den führenden Internet-Unternehmen in der Schweiz.

WAS SCOUT24 ÜBER UNS SAGT

Scout 24 Logo
«Mit dem effizienten DWH-Generator und der Expertise von Trivadis konnten wir in sehr kurzer Zeit, in hoher Qualität und in Übereinstimmung mit BI Best Practices die erforderliche Transparenz bezüglich der Marktleistung erreichen
Andreas von Ballmoos
Leiter Business Intelligence, Scout24 Schweiz AG
challenge mountain achievement

HERAUSFORDERUNG

Der Auslöser für die Entwicklung einer unternehmensweiten Business-Intelligence-Lösung waren neue, von der Scout24-Geschäftsleitung sowie den Gesellschaftern Ringier und KKR definierte Anforderungen an die Leistungsmessung der Online-Marktplätze. Die umfangreichen (K)PIs wurden zuvor vom Unternehmen und den Verantwortlichen der Scout24-Marktplätze eigenständig festgelegt. Weder die Online-Systeme noch die Analyselösungen der Online-Marktplätze waren in der Lage, die geforderten Kennzahlen in zufriedenstellender Qualität und im gewünschten Zeitraum zu liefern.

Für den Aufbau der neuen Business-Intelligence-Lösung suchte Scout24 einen geeigneten Partner mit langjähriger Expertise in der Konzeption, Implementierung und Wartung von BI-Lösungen. Trivadis hob sich durch ihre hohe Kompetenz von ihren Mitbewerbern ab.

METHODE


Die Arbeiten begannen sofort im Oktober 2014. Die wesentlichen Grundlagen für den Aufbau des Data Warehouse wurden innerhalb von nur 3 Wochen erarbeitet und gemeinsam verabschiedet. Diese wurden in produktiven und klar strukturierten Workshops auf die Kundenbedürfnisse zugeschnitten und anschließend in einem BI-Grundkonzept erfasst.

Grundlegendes BI-Konzept

  • Prinzipien der BI-Governance und BI-Strategie
  • BI-Organisation / BI-Kompetenzzentrum
  • Data Warehouse / Prinzipien der Business-Intelligence-Architektur
  • Normen und Richtlinien
  • Auswahl der Technologie inkl. Empfehlung

Die erste Implementierungseinheit (die Integration von ImmoScout24, CRM und NET-Metrix) wurde im November 2014 gestartet. Dank des zentralen Entwicklungstools - dem Data-Warehouse-Generator biGENIUS® - und der Etablierung des BI-Grundkonzepts konnte das Release im Dezember 2014 dem Kunden in der geforderten Qualität zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Nach Abschluss der Lieferung im Januar 2015 wurden die ersten produktiven Auswertungen mit dem neuen Data Warehouse erstellt und dem Management vorgestellt.

Roadmap

  • Etablierung der Grundlagen, BI-Grundkonzept
  • Produktion von ImmoScout24, CRM und NETMetrix DWH
  • AutoScout24 und Google Analytics DWH
  • Anibis DWH, Durchführung und Übergabe
  • Vereinfachte Scout24-Datawarehouse-Roadmap: Das Data Warehouse wurde bereits im Sommer 2015 so weit implementiert, dass die definierten Kennzahlen über alle drei Scout24-Online-Marktplätze hinweg ausgewertet und für das Management und den Investor KKR aufbereitet werden konnten.
  • Die hohe Standardisierung von biGENIUS® und die damit verbundene vereinfachte Pflege des Data Warehouse ermöglicht es dem Kompetenzzentrum BI von Scout24, dieses nach Abschluss des Projektes im August 2015 selbst zu betreuen und weiterzuentwickeln.

 

LÖSUNG

Die Lösung umfasst ein historisiertes Data Warehouse, das nach den Best Practices von Trivadis DWH/BI erstellt wurde.

  • Quell-Systeme
  • Marktplätze
  • Quellen für die Analyse
  • IIS-Protokolle
  • Langfristig
  • Auswertungen
  • Trivadis biGENIUS®-Generator
  • Trivadis DWH/BI Best Practices und Blueprints
  • Vereinfachte Architektur des Business-Intelligence-Systems Scout24
solution puzzle

Die Schaffung eines Langzeit-Datenspeichers war ein zentrales Ziel, um die Quellsysteme zu bereinigen und frei zu machen. Ein historisierter Datenspeicher erfüllt diese Anforderungen und bildet die Grundlage für weitere Ausbaustufen des Data Warehouse.

Darüber hinaus war ein hohes Maß an Standardisierung, Erweiterbarkeit und Wartbarkeit erforderlich, damit Scout24 das Data Warehouse eigenständig und kostengünstig entwickeln kann.

Der Einsatz des Data-Warehouse-Generators biGENIUS® ermöglichte die Erfüllung dieser Anforderungen und unterstützte zudem den iterativen Ansatz bei der Entwicklung des Data Warehouse.

 

UMFANG / MERKMALE

  • Historisierter Datenspeicher und Data-Warehouse-Kern
  • 7 interne und 2 Online-Quellen
  • >650 Objekte im Ladevorgang
  • 14 marktplatzspezifische Data Marts, bestehend aus
    • 15 Faktentabellen
    • 34 Dimensionen

TECHNOLOGIEN & PRODUKTE

Client Technologien

  • Microsoft Power BI (PowerView, PowerMap and Designer)
  • Microsoft Datazen Publisher and Viewer
  • Trivadis biGENIUS® Generator (Implementierung) mit folgenden Modulen
    • Data-Warehouse-Modellierung und -Generator
    • Dokumentation Backend-Technologie

Backend Technologien

  • Microsoft SQL Server Integration Services 2014
  • Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services 2014
  • Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services 2014
  • Microsoft Transact SQL
  • Microsoft Datazen Server
  • Trivadis biGENIUS® Generator (Betrieb) mit folgenden Modulen
    • Verwaltung des Lebenszyklus
    • Laststeuerung und -überwachung
solution puzzle

NUTZEN

ERFOLG DURCH ZUSAMMENARBEIT

Die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Projektteams von Scout24 und Trivadis war für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung des Projekts sehr wichtig. Die Lösung wurde in mehreren agilen Iterationen spezifiziert, gemeinsam entwickelt und abgestimmt.

Die rechtzeitige und intensive Einbindung aller beteiligten Partner ermöglichte es, die Lösung termin- und budgetgerecht umzusetzen.

Die enge Unterstützung des Unternehmens und der für BI verantwortlichen Person während der Auslieferungstests stärkte das Verständnis für die neue Lösung und bestätigte, dass die Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen verstanden worden waren.

BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE FOR ONLINE MARKETPLACES

Scout24 Logo

challenge mountain achievement
Challenge
Lack of transparency regarding the performance of three online marketplaces (ImmoScout24, AutoScout24 and Anibis).
solution puzzle
Solution
Implementation of a company-wide data warehouse within just 9 months, integrating 7 inhouse and 2 online sources.
benefits boost icon
Benefits
High level of standardisation, expandability and maintainability at low cost.

About Scout 24

Scout24 Switzerland AG is the leading network of online marketplaces for vehicles, real estate and classified ads. The company is owned by Ringier Digital AG (56%) and the American financial investor KKR (44%). The globally active Ringier Group bundles its digital activities under the Ringier Digital business division.

 
Thanks to innovative technologies and services, Scout24 is one of the leading Internet companies in Switzerland.

WHAT SCOUT24 SAYS ABOUT US

Scout 24 Logo
«The efficient DWH generator and the expertise of Trivadis enabled us to achieve the required transparency with regard to marketplace performance within a very short time, in high quality and in compliance with BI best practices.»
Andreas von Ballmoos
Head of Business Intelligence, Scout24 Schweiz AG
challenge mountain achievement

CHALLENGE

New requirements defined by the Scout24 top management as well as the shareholders Ringier and KKR to measure the performance of the online marketplaces were the trigger for the development of a company-wide business intelligence solution. The extensive (K)PIs were previously laid down independently by the business and the Scout24 marketplace managers. Neither the online systems nor the analysis solutions of the online marketplaces were able to provide the required key figures in a satisfactory quality and within the desired period.

Scout24 was looking for a suitable partner with many years of expertise in the design, implementation and maintenance of BI solutions to build the new business intelligence solution. Trivadis stood out from their competitors thanks to their high level of competence.

APPROACH


Work started immediately in October 2014. The essential basics for setting up the data warehouse were established within just 3 weeks and approved jointly. These were tailored to customer needs in productive and clearly structured workshops and then captured in a basic BI concept.

Basic BI concept

  • BI governance and BI strategy principles
  • BI organisation / BI competence centre
  • Data warehouse / principles of business intelligence architecture
  • Standards and guidelines
  • Choice of technology incl. recommendation

The first implementation unit, the integration of ImmoScout24, CRM and NET-Metrix, was launched in November 2014. Thanks to the central development tool - biGENIUS® data warehouse generator - and the establishment of the basic BI concept, the release was made available to the customer in the required quality in December 2014. After completed delivery in January 2015, the first productive evaluations were created using the new data warehouse and presented to management.

Roadmap

  • Establishment of the basics, basic BI concept
  • ImmoScout24, CRM and NETMetrix DWH
  • Production
  • AutoScout24 and Google Analytics DWH
  • Anibis DWH, implementation and handover
  • Simplified Scout24 data warehouse roadmap The data warehouse was implemented to such a degree already by the summer of 2015, that the defined key figures could be evaluated across all three Scout24 online marketplaces and be processed for management and the investor KKR.
  • The high standardisation of biGENIUS® and the associated simplified maintenance of the data warehouse enables Scout24's Competence Centre BI to look after and further develop this themselves upon completion of the project in August 2015.

SOLUTION

The solution includes a historicized data warehouse created according to Trivadis' DWH/BI best practices.

  • Source systems
  • Marketplaces
  • Sources for analysis
  • IIS logs
  • Long term
  • Evaluations
  • Trivadis biGENIUS® generator
  • Trivadis DWH/BI best practices and blueprints
  • Simplified architecture of the Scout24 business intelligence system
solution puzzle

The creation of a long-term data store was a central objective in order to clean up and free up the source systems. A historicized data store fulfils these requirements and forms the basis for further stages of expansion of the data warehouse.

In addition, a high level of standardisation, expandability and maintainability were required to enable Scout24 to develop the data warehouse independently and at low cost.

The use of the biGENIUS® data warehouse generator enabled these requirements to be met and also supported the iterative approach in the development of the data warehouse.

 

SCOPE / CHARACTERISTICS

  • Historicized data store and data warehouse core
  • 7 in-house and 2 online sources
  • >650 objects in the loading process
  • 14 marketplace-specific data marts consisting of
    • 15 fact tables
    • 34 dimensions

TECHNOLOGIES & PRODUCTS

Client technologies

  • Microsoft Power BI (PowerView, PowerMap and Designer)
  • Microsoft Datazen Publisher and Viewer
  • Trivadis biGENIUS® generator (implementation) with the following modules
    • Data warehouse modelling and generator
    • Documentation Backend technologie

Backend technologies

  • Microsoft SQL Server Integration Services 2014
  • Microsoft SQL Server Analysis Services 2014
  • Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services 2014
  • Microsoft Transact SQL
  • Microsoft Datazen Server
  • Trivadis biGENIUS® generator (operation) with the following modules
    • Lifecycle management
    • Load control and monitoring
solution puzzle

BENEFITS

SUCCESS THROUGH COLLABORATION

Close collaboration between the Scout24 and Trivadis project teams was very important for the successful implementation of the project. The solution was specified in several agile iterations, developed and agreed on together.

The timely and intensive involvement of all participating partners made it possible to implement the solution on time and on budget.

The close support of the business and the person responsible for BI during the delivery tests enforced the understanding for the new solution and confirmed the needs and requirements had been understood.